“In our future you wouldn’t look twice” #GTFOH


DASO knew that this here poster would cause a stir and why wouldn’t it? Its two attractive naked people with contrasting skin tones. For crying out loud, it looks like a Jean Paul Gaultier perfume spread in a magazine. And the slogan, “In our future you wouldn’t look twice”. Like interracial relationships have anything to do with politics, as symbolic as it may be.

I would’ve loved this picture if it wasn’t blatantly used for ballyhoo. I think it’s in bad taste. Like when Helen dresses like a Soweto street vendor to “get down” with the people. Using shallow differences is not the way to sway people. Or me rather, it is best to speak for myself.

If a picture is worth a thousand words than The DA has for me said enough for the next few weeks. I don’t know if The ANC has responded to this poster yet, but I would urge them not to. This is D-grade fodder for bloggers like me. Shame on me for giving this attention, but it’s what you wanted so here it is DASO!

Everything is changing. People are taking their comedians seriously and their politicians as a joke. – Will Rogers

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

2 Responses to “In our future you wouldn’t look twice” #GTFOH

  1. Would anyone really notice/care these days though? I mean, I know a few die hards in both the black and white communities would, but the rest of us? I even if we noticed, we’d notice as much because they’re an attractive couple more than any issue with the fact they’re “mixed”. XP

    • obialone says:

      Well that precisely what it is. I wouldn’t notice in a racial context, but I would from a sexual one. They’re using the provocative nature of this “sexy” picture to make a point on racial polarisation. I take issue with that.

Leave a Reply

