Lawyers in Suits



I just finished watching the first season of the “legal” drama Suits. It’s like having ice-cream for breakfast; high GI content, a treat when you eat it, but later on you’re just starving. When I hear the words “Legal Drama” I actually expect legal drama, but Suits is different.

Essentially it’s about the corporate side of the legal practice. The story line is centred on the theme of greed and “compassion”, I think. As such the characters come off as extremely haughty and insufferably vain. The main characters are Harvey and Michael, mentor and mentee respectively. Their relationship is nothing we haven’t seen before.

Harvey is the ambitious senior partner who worked his way to the top by using his charm, wit and streetwise intelligence. Predictably this made him the assertive and smug legal virtuosos he is in the boardroom (because he doesn’t let his cases go to court, he likes settling). He’s also in it for the thrill and as such he ruffles a lot of feathers. So when it came time to choose his apprentice, he couldn’t go with the run-off-the-mill Harvard Law graduate. He needed someone as colourful as he is. Like he told his assistant Donna “I want another me”.

And that would be Michael, who’s illegally practicing law (Harvey’s idea, thrills, living on the edge and whatnot). A college dropout (he got expelled) with an eidetic memory and a shaky past. In one word, he’s is sweet. Unlike most lawyers he’s not morally grey and he’s discernible when it comes to right and wrong, even when it means going against orders. This hasn’t been implied directly or tacitly, but I figure that Harvey used to be the same when he was starting out. This and their love for well-whatever it is they love, seems to be the thread holding them together. A good thread I might add.

The supporting cast consist of other characters who give Suits even less depth than it already has. There’s Vanessa the managing partner, who encourages Harvey’s willy-nilly antics. She can be very stern when she wants to be and her ability to command authority can leave you in awe.

Then we have Louis. He’s the quirky fella with that awkward Dr Evil demeanour. He appears to be highly competent, even more so than Harvey, but his lack of swag and likeability render him helpless at his position as junior partner. Understandably, he’s a bitter Grinch.

Donna, Harvey’s loyal assistant. She’s an ice queen with a good heart.

Rachel, a paralegal and Michael’s love interest at the firm.

The other two characters are Michael’s girlfriend and best friend, Vanessa and Trevor. Not sure if they’re worth mention since they’re not “Suits”. Not much can be said for them. Maybe their characters will be developed next season?

When it comes to legal dramas David E Kelley spoilt us with so much depth, substance and richness in The Practice. The same can be said for Boston Legal as hilarious as it was and (well not really, but what the hell) Alley McBeal. Suits isn’t without its Hallmark moments, although they are far between. It’s shallow and entertaining and a different angle and take on “legal dramas”. It’s light and easy and you won’t ever need a Thesaurus to keep up with the diction and rhetoric. It young, its hip it’s fresh and edgy, with some wit and charisma. It’s for the Gossip Girl generation, I get how it could have an audience. I’m not exactly sitting on the edge of my seat, biting my nails for season two, but they do have my attention.

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

Leave a Reply

