My English is atrocious


I’ve been going through some of my old blog posts and wowza! My English is so bad. But is it something to be concerned about? When I started this blog and I needed advice, I turned to @LTqha and she said “write whatever the fuck you want aint no one is forced to read your shit”. I felt emancipated and my creativity got the wings it needed.

I am however concerned about my tipsy tenses, grammatical faux pas and high punctuation. These are things I pick up on much later (walks down memory lane and whatnot). I’m guessing that some of the readers of my blog pick up on them too. I don’t know how much it bothers readers when a writer’s English skills are worthy of an Umthatha born woonga addict. I just think it’s embarrassing to the writer more than anything else.

The cause? Speaking for myself, its text messages, Facebook status updates and Tweets etc. I maintain, and have said this before, that all kinds of reading affect the way we structure the language and diction we use on a daily basis. There’s so much bad English out there, and we cannot avoid it. What we don’t realise is how much it affects us. It is actually also on TV! And if most of the reading you do is on twitter…I have news for you. Social media is the breeding ground/cesspool of bad English. I’m pretty sure your English was much better in high school than it is now (born in the 80’s). I’m not saying unfollow people because of their bad English, what I’m saying is counter all the bad English with READING!

I’ve only read two books all year and I’m on my third. I don’t think this is enough especially for someone who wants to deliver “quality” on his blog. So I’m going to be reading books and we’ll see if my English gets any better.

Until then, I will subscribe to @LTqha’s mantra “aint no one is forced to read my shit”. Or maybe I should hire an editor lol.

P.S. It’s important to have decent writing skills. A friend of mine and I used to read some of the emails we got from directors at work and half of the time we were shocked at how badly written they were. It doesn’t take much…I promise.

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

2 Responses to My English is atrocious

  1. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

