Consciousness and Time


I’m going to start by pointing out that I’m not at all racist, and I’m totally above propaganda and such. But I found myself reading that letter by Willie Lynch again. Coincidentally I was having a conversation with a “coconut” friend of mine the other day. Someone who’s always had more white friends than black friends, and she said that white men are evil.

In 1712, slavery was rife. White people owned slaves…black slaves. A slave would be beaten to a quarter of his death and if death came, it would be written off as a loss. Slaves would be traded for cash. Slaves were people. So my question is, basically, what’s changed?

Which consciousness exists now, that says slavery is wrong, that didn’t exist then? Which begs another question, when the people of tomorrow look at the people of today (2011), will they too ask the same question, should things perhaps be better in the future? Does it take time for consciousness to kick in? Or maybe consciousness comes at the cost of defeat. I don’t know…I just feel like on the day slavery was abolished, “the white men” felt defeated…and so came consciousness.  “Oh okay, ja no…we were wrong to do that. So sorry. We know better now.” How could it have felt right?

I’m not only talking about slavery. I’m talking about most things that leave a certain group in society unable to enjoy civil liberties extended to the rest of the group. Like gay marriages, in some countries, and women in Saudi being allowed to drive. When a law is passed to allow for these liberties, “consciousness” will come to the defeated.

Allow yourself to feel the spirit of discernment. Be receptive and willing to have your opinions and views challenged. Don’t postpone virtue at the cost of being “right”. The world is changing and growing faster than you and me. Societies will always find new ways to discriminate, but the human spirit as a whole is greater than societies in groups. Every homosexual gay person will eventually be allowed to marry, Saudi women will drive and albinos will finally be allowed to roam the streets of Limpopo.

 

One People, One Sky

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

Leave a Reply

