The other organ you feel with


 

Recently a buddy of mine got her heart/ego handed to her by a douche lord. Not sure if my friend is/was in love, but she was in something and it stung to have her hopes shattered like that. I believe in love, love is beautiful, but not all of it is love. We, not knowing better, find ourselves in situations that leave us lounging in the presidential suite of the heartbreak hotel.

There’s the heart and there’s the ego. We seem to react to them similarly. Splitting them might be important for reflection when things go pear-shaped. Your heart might still be fine, but your ego puts it in jeopardy.

It’s important to realise that our egos are as delicate as our loving hearts.  The ego is the core centre of confidence. It’s were we weigh our self importance. When we have people coming in and out of our lives treating us lesser than the value we have attached to ourselves, it takes a toll. Not to say that you lose all self importance, but your confidence in finding a suitor diminishes. We have those cliché cases where you find beautiful intelligent women dating men who aren’t even worth a KFC ice-cream (without the flake) in character. And we wonder why. Your ego breaks so many times that that part of you starts asking for less. I might be reaching with this, but just like how the heart wants what it wants; the ego goes for what it deems its worth. We get into a cycle of being involved with the same demon with different names. We all have that friend.

Some of us are lucky, we realise it and break the pattern. The rest of us, too weak and broken, resign to the idea that “THE ONE” will come, so we sift through the KFC cones looking for a waffle.

To get out of the pattern I think is to take a break, a very long break to let your ego heal. Holla if you know a better way.

The point of this was to make everyone realise that when we are dissed and treated like doormats, and ultimately dumped we feel so much pain and humiliation, that we believe that we were in love. I mean why else would it hurt so much? It has to be love right? Truth is sometimes it’s your ego, it bruises and it hurts too.

 

To have ego means to believe in your own strength. And to also be opened to other people’s views. It is to be open, not closed. So yes my ego is big, but it’s also very small in some areas. My ego is responsible for my doing what I do- good or bad. Barbra Streisand

 

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

Leave a Reply

