As the counting draws to an end. ByeBye Local Elections


These election have opened my eyes to a few things that I guess I’ve known for a long time. The ANC is running our country and spending our taxes. They’re capable and they have resources. We give them power, we are the people. We must have opinions and we must voice them. I’m feeling like a bit of a heretic tonight. So most of the following will not be in my humble opinion. And again I say, I am not anti ANC or pro DA.

Our people are still shaken by apartheid. We’re still crippled by it. In the way we think, in the things we say, in how we act and more importantly how we fail to act.

Riding on what Allister Sparks calls “The gatvol factor”, isn’t going to win votes. Opposition parties are, and reasonably so, under the impression that people being gatvol of bad services will win them votes. The ANC has a weapon that surpasses the gatvol factor. Its called devotion.

Today someone  tweeted “Not about race? why do all white voters PROUDLY vote DA and black ppl r made to feel stupid for voting ANC w/ words like blind”. I replied to this tweet by quoting what an ANC supporter said on telly, “If u are ANC, u stay ANC. If u my brother , u stay my brother. YOU DONT JUST CHANGE AND BECOME A WOMAN”.  I can’t speak for the man who said this, but I can’t help but doubt how sober his thoughts are, drunk on devotion. People are not stupid for voting ANC, they are stupid for such utterances. The ANC is aware of such banter and does nothing to discourage. I’m willing to go as far as to say the ANC encourages it. ANC supporters are not in good company, and the ANC has no qualms with this. Don’t even get me started on the violence that nearly broke out in the Midvaal when the DA won.

The socio-economic status quo of the ANC strong-holds speak volumes of why these places are ANC strong-holds. I wonder how much the DA has done to actually try to win over these constituencies. So much effort goes into winning the money constituencies (the big metros). Does the DA really care about:

  • The ANC is leading in Aganang [Moletji/Matlala] with 86.5%.
  • The ANC is leading in Ba-Phalaborwa [Phalaborwa] with 82.72 %
  • Blouberg The ANC is leading Blouberg [Bochum/My Darling] with 92.08%

Granted these are small municipalities, but how much does the DA care about them? I deliberately chose from constituencies in Limpopo because it’s the furthest province from the Western Cape, a DA strong hold.

Last word

A question that I should have asked myself at the beginning of the elections: How do you win votes and influence people? I have no idea. Hoping that I’ll be blogging in the next elections, I’ll open with this line.

P.S. Every election the DA gains ± 2% of votes. So in roughly ±27yrs (national and local election, ±9 elections) Jesus is coming. If you believe the words of your president. Hehe.

Politics should never be about brand loyalty.

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

5 Responses to As the counting draws to an end. ByeBye Local Elections

  1. AyBeeOh says:

    Nothing to add really. All that’s left to say: You’re good at this! Standing O, my friend :). And it’s not ‘coz you’re my friend…possibly because we share similar views. Hehe.

  2. Bushvoter says:

    Tsala brilliant post. The questions you ask and the thoughts provoke astound me. Might I ask if we will see an ANC improvement. I firmly believe that behind the wings and behind Julius/Fikile/Shivambu there are very intelligent focused young leaders waiting to fight the good fight for the people. A fight to benefit the previously disadvantaged and to make a success of this Nation by democratic means. It is this hope that still sees me vote ANC!

    • obialone says:

      Tsala, you still reading my blog. Thanks!!! You must get a blog for all that poerty of yours!!!
      I don’t think the ANC will go anywhere under the leadership of Jacob Zuma. Since he took over office, the ANC has lost voters, even with the downfall of COPE, the ANC was unable to recoup those seats. Lol, its always interesting when people use the ANC and democracy in the same sentence as a means to make them appear as complementary to each other. They’re not in the greater scheme of things. A monolithic political structure is very contrary to what a democracy is.

Leave a Reply

