Generations was awesome.


Hello all, this is my first official blog on WordPress.

Starting up a blog is a mission, been trying to get my page to
look all jazzed, I gave up. This is my 3rd attempted at blogging, and hopefully
my last , crossing fingers. So many friends are tired of these blogging
episodes I get.

Anyways, inspiration hit me about an hour or so ago. I watched a
whole episode of Rhythm City. I didn’t at any point feel like lighting up a
joint so I can enjoy it (rhetoric, say no to drugs). I’m very critical of South
African soap operas, and by that I mean Generations. I cannot stand Generations
to save my fertility. Okay, so the intention of this blog was not going to bash
Generations, but I’m going to….because I can. I can because I am a hurt
black! I used to love Generations so much.

As much as its fun to make fun of the weaves and the way they
speak Engless, is there anything more insulting?  I mean really, does that not just show the
deterioration in the quality of a TV show?

Generations has always been hilarious. Remember those days Lillian
Dube and her  “Jam” quarrels with Makkie
in Soweto? Who didn’t crack up at that? That was funny. It was the intention of
the writers/producers/director.

Things were funny for a long time!
We had the antics of Sonny and Baba.

So a soap opera is a “a radio or TV series depicting the
interconnected lives of many characters often in a sentimental, melodramatic
way.”  -Dictionary.com

Is Generations still giving you that?  Isn’t that what you want?

I was speaking to a friend the other day, and she told me how sick
she is of seeing Samuel going to gym, and how he still has that malume Christmas mokaba.

“As a side not, I just BBM’d another friend, to get confirmation
on Samuel going to gym. Apparently they all go to gym.” NO THEY DON’T. This
intel is flawed.  So fell free to
disregard.

So much talent has been lost throughout the years. So much colour
as well. All the members of the original cast have left. Except Sophie Ndaba,
and too be quiet frankly, I’ve never been a fan. How did they lose an entire
cast?

That’s actually where I’m going to leave it, “How did they lose an
entire cast?”

Okay, because this is my first blog, I know this is a terrible way
to end a blog…or maybe it isn’t? I’ll get better at this. But I lost interest. In
this topic, and I cannot force myself to carry on.

In my humble opinion.

About obialone
I'm random and unwise. I'm always seeking wisdom in its simplest form. I'm scared of not being scared, so I find ways to terrify myself. I care about everything, and I'm interested in all things. I reserve the right to change my mind, anytime. So in most cases I find it best to humble my opinion

5 Responses to Generations was awesome.

  1. princess (Twin-B) says:

    twin….you actually hurt me with this one, hahahha – very funny!!! im loving this blog…

    • obialone says:

      Oh TwinBee!!! Thank you so much!!! You’re the first person to comment on my blog!!! It really is a humbling honour! You really are a twin!!! I wont forget this!!!!

  2. maddy says:

    I’ve been watching generations since the days of archie moroka… When karabo died and it was totally believable that she came back! A few years Tau mohale ‘died’ and he came back to life recently! It was total bullshit!! But the fact is we don’t that many african soapies, and I’m a soapie whore, I still watch bold and the beautiful… I guess I’m desperate 😦

    • obialone says:

      Hahaha, I know what you mean Maddy. When Generations first came on the scene it looked a lot like The Bold and the Beautiful, it was about Isis and New Horizons (Spectra Fashions and Forrester Creations). Then things got out of hand, I believe, because then they tried to hard to incorporate that whole American soapie vibe into the mix. When people die and come back like its plausible (Days of our lives). But we do have options, I think. I watched Rhythm City the other night, and it was good. Isidingo is also awesome. Haven’t watched in ages though. But yeah, Generations is crack! And a lot of use a crack whores! Say no to drugs!!!

  3. Ayanda says:

    “Just because you don’t like it, doesn’t mean it sucks…”

Leave a Reply

